Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Round of Applause

Round of Applause

Let’s give a round of applause to our ATPE members all around the state who go above and beyond.


Park Place Lexus recognized Allen ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year John Garrott. 


Kameron Copass was named Walnut Creek Elementary and Azle ISD’s Elementary Teacher of the Year. 

Michelle Partin was named the Campus Teacher of the Year for Forte Junior High, and Amber Chapman received the honor for Cross Timbers Elementary School. The following ATPE members received the Heart of Azle award: 

  • Starla Petty, Forte Junior High  
  • Robert Popp, Silver Creek Elementary School 
  • Jason Vines, Azle High School 


The Texas Parent Teacher Association (PTA) selected West Brook High School’s Nicholas Phillips as its 2023 Secondary Principal of the Year.   


Mary Kroll, a STEAM teacher at Krause Elementary School, was named her campus’ 2023 Teacher of the Year.


First grade teacher Rhonda Kruse was named Teacher of the Year for Ben Milam Elementary School.

Corpus Christi

Texas PTA named Moody High School teacher Donna Jones as its 2023 Secondary Teacher of the Year.


Devine ISD named two ATPE members Educator of the Year for their respective campuses: Melody Riou (Devine Intermediate School) and Christian Guerra (Devine Middle School).


April Pool was one of four Jasper ISD teachers to receive a Jasper Public School Foundation Educator of the Year Award.


Rosemary Perez was one of four educators named by the Jourdanton ISD School Board as the Employee of the Year.


The Lake Travis ISD school board recognized kindergarten teacher Joy Crenshaw as Lakeway Elementary School’s 2022-23 Teacher of the Year.


Northeast Texas ATPE’s Suzanne Puryear was named Crunch Fitness’ Educator of the Year.

Liberty Hill

Fifth grade teacher Emily Lively received Liberty Hill ISD’s Elementary Teacher of the Year Award.


Midlothian ISD named three ATPE members the 2022-23 Teachers of the Year for their respective campuses:

  • Joshua Carpenter, T. E. Baxter Elementary
  • Michelle Spradley, Dolores W. McClatchey Elementary
  • Donna Scott, LaRue Miller Elementary


Plainview ISD named the following ATPE members the 2022-23 Teachers of the Year for their respective campuses:

  • Kelly Shackelford, Plainview High School
  • James Pittman, Ash High School
  • Mackenzie Sutton, Plainview Junior High School


Courtney Beck was named Redwater Elementary School’s teacher of the year as well as Region 8 ESC’s Elementary Teacher of the Year.


Rosalva Munoz was recognized for her passion in working with bilingual students.


Amy Smith was named the 2023 Outstanding Mentor Teacher by the South Central Area Network for Professional Development Schools.

Do you want to recognize a fellow ATPE member in the next issue of ATPE News? Contact us at!