Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators
/ATPE/media/Standard-Content-Banners/2022-23-ATPE-State-Officers.png?ext=.png /ATPE/media/Standard-Content-Banners/2022-23-ATPE-State-Officers.png?ext=.png

State Officers

The ATPE House of Delegates elects four state officers annually: president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. Along with the immediate past state president, these working educators form ATPE’s Executive Committee. Here are your 2022-23 state officers: 

Stacey Ward
State President

Region 4
Humble ATPE

Stacey Ward teaches fifth grade science in Humble ISD. She has been described as “a champion for teacher and student rights” and isn’t afraid to testify on their behalf. She is a member of Delta Kappa Gamma and volunteers for the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. In her spare time, Stacey enjoys reading, visiting ATPE regions across the state, and playing with her English Bulldogs, Mack and Millie.

Jayne Serna
State Vice President

Region 13
Leander ATPE

Jayne Serna is an adjunct history professor at Austin Community College. She taught secondary English and social studies for 29 years, is a James Madison Memorial Fellow, and is a long-time Advanced Placement U.S. History Rater. She has been involved in local government issues and founded a nonprofit organization that serves children in her community. Jayne has served in every local and region officer role for ATPE and is currently a campus rep and membership coordinator for her local unit. Jayne earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from Angelo State University, a Master of Arts in History from Texas State University, and a Master of Education in Professional School Counseling from Lamar University.

Jason Forbis
State Secretary

Region 12
Midway (12) ATPE

Jason Forbis is a 25-year education veteran who currently teaches first grade in Midway ISD in Region 12. Jason has chaired several ATPE state committees and served in numerous leadership roles in Midway ISD, Waco ISD, and Region 12 ATPE. Outside of ATPE, Jason is a certified pharmacy technician and has coordinated food drives for the Hunger Free MISD program.

Jerrica Liggins
State Treasurer

Region 8
Paris ATPE

Jerrica serves as her district’s secondary education director and has 12 years of experience. She has been a member and chairwoman of several ATPE state committees, an ATPE at the Capitol panelist, and a member of the inaugural class of Leadership ATPE. Jerrica has served her district and community through various leadership roles, including as a CHAMPion mentor, YoungLife Lamar County mentor, Paris Downtown Food Pantry board member, and Lamar County United Way campaign chair.

Karen Hames
Immediate Past State President

Region 11
Lewisville ATPE

Karen Hames, M. Ed., recently retired after 44 years in the classroom, most recently as an eighth grade English/language arts and reading teacher. In her spare time, Karen enjoys cooking, riding her Harley-Davidson, and traveling.