/ATPE/media/Blog/181218_Awards-750x280.png?ext=.png /ATPE/media/Blog/181218_Awards.jpg

2018 ATPE Award Winners

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 7/23/2018

ATPE award winners were announced at the 2018 ATPE Summit, which was held July 11-13 in Dallas.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award

This award recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields. Winners receive a $5,000 prize.

The winners are:

Administrator of the Year—Paula Franklin, Galveston ATPE

Associate of the Year—Stefanie Barnhart, Denton ATPE

Elementary Teacher of the Year—Barbara Triplett, Northside (20) ATPE

Secondary Teacher of the Year—Richard Embrick, Fort Bend ISD

Special Services of the Year—Susie Andrews, Rio Hondo ATPE

Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award

The Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award is designed to acknowledge those special ATPE volunteers who are fundamental to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. Winners receive $1,000 each, and their local units receive $250 for future local unit activities.

The winners are:

Local unit with 1-200 members—Eden Renovato, Hempstead ATPE

Local unit with 201-500 members—Michael Sweet, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE

Local unit with 501+ members—Michael Balderas, Edinburg ATPE

Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award

The ATPE Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award acknowledges local unit efforts and accomplishments during the year. Each winning local unit receives $1,000

The winners are:

Local units with 1-200 members—Waller ATPE, Region 4

Local units with 201-500 members—Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE, Region 1

Local units with 501+ members—Edinburg ATPE, Region 1

University local units—Houston Baptist University ATPE, Region 4

Alafair Hammett Media Award

Named for ATPE’s first president, this award recognizes individual local media reporters for their outstanding support and coverage of public education.

The recipients are:

Phil Prazan, KXAN (Austin)

Aliyya Swaby, The Texas Tribune (Austin)

Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award

This award, ATPE’s highest honor, is presented to individuals who demonstrate superior service to public education. This year, the Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award is being presented to Texas House Speaker Joe Straus.

Congratulations to all our award winners! Learn more about ATPE awards, including application deadlines and how to apply.

Not an ATPE member? With ATPE membership, you get access to our top-notch legal team, outstanding benefits and resources, influence at the Capitol, and liability and employment rights defense coverage* to protect your career.

Join today to become part of the state’s largest and most trusted educator group.

*Eligibility, terms, limits, and exclusions apply.