/ATPE/media/Blog/200714_AwardWinners-750x280.jpg?ext=.jpg /ATPE/media/Blog/200714_AwardWinners.png

2020 ATPE Award Winners

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 7/14/2020

ATPE award winners were announced at the first-ever virtual ATPE Summit July 6–10.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award
This award recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields. Winners receive a $5,000 prize. The winners are: 

  • Administrator of the Year: Kellye Loving, Corpus Christi ISD
  • Associate of the Year: Tanya Crites, Lumberton ISD
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year: Michael Sweet, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year: Michael Clark, Katy ATPE
  • Special Services of the Year: Aiesha Odutayo, Houston ISD

Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award
The Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award is designed to acknowledge those special ATPE volunteers who are fundamental to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. Winners receive $1,000 each, and their local units receive $250 for future local unit activities. The winners are: 

  • Local unit with 1–200 members: Karen Glenn, Lumberton ATPE
  • Local unit with 201–500 members: Michael Sweet, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE
  • Local unit with 501–1,000 members: Norma Vega, La Joya ATPE
  • Local unit with 1,001+ members: Rachel Melancon, Dallas ATPE

Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award
The ATPE Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award acknowledges local unit efforts and accomplishments during the year. Each winning local unit receives $1,000. The winners are: 

  • Local units with 1–200 members: Lumberton ATPE, Region 5
  • Local units with 201–500 members: Nacogdoches ATPE, Region 7
  • Local units with 501–1,000 members: Weslaco ATPE, Region 1
  • Local units with 1,001+ members: Mesquite ATPE, Region 10
  • University local units: South Texas College–Mid-Valley ATPE, Region 1

Alafair Hammett Media Award
Named for ATPE’s first president, this award recognizes individual local media reporters for their outstanding support and coverage of public education. The recipient is:

Eva-Marie Ayala, The Dallas Morning News

Congratulations to all our award winners! Thank you for everything you do.

Learn more about ATPE awards, including application deadlines and how to apply. Applications/nominations for 2020-21 awards will open in August.