/ATPE/media/Blog/200909_TASA-TOY-2021-750x280.jpg?ext=.jpg /ATPE/media/Blog/200909_TASA-TOY-2021.jpg

ATPE Congratulates 2021 Texas Teacher of the Year Finalists

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 9/08/2020

The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) earlier today released a list of finalists for the 2021 Texas Teacher of the Year Award.

Since 1957, the Texas Teacher of the Year has been the highest honor that the State of Texas can bestow upon teachers.

Facilitated by TASA, each year 40 Regional Teachers of the Year, representing the 20 Education Service Center regions of Texas, meet with a pool of judges and are narrowed down to the top six finalists: three elementary school teachers and three secondary school teachers. 

As a long-time partner association to TASA, ATPE would like to extend a sincere congratulations to all the finalists for this prestigious award, including ATPE members:

Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year Finalist

  • Lisa Barry, Woodridge Elementary School, Alamo Heights ISD:
    ATPE Region 20.

Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Ida Cisneros, Frenship Middle School, Frenship ISD
    ATPE Region 17

“As the largest educator association in Texas, ATPE is extremely proud and humbled to count among its membership two of the six finalists for the 2021 Texas Teacher of the Year Award,” said Shannon Holmes, ATPE Executive Director. “These extraordinary educators and their innovative, collaborative, and excellent work are models that we should all aspire to emulate in our own careers. We wish them the best of luck in this upcoming academic year, one filled with uncharted waters, and we hope they know that ATPE is here for them. Congratulations, again, to all the finalists, and thank you for being inspirations to educators across Texas.”

The full list of Texas Teacher of the Year finalists includes: 

  • Eric Hale, David G. Burnet Elementary School, Dallas ISD 
  • Alexis Miller, Southridge Elementary School, Lewisville ISD 
  • Anthony Lopez-Waste, Canutillo High School, Canutillo ISD 
  • Adriana Abundis, Lanier High School, San Antonio ISD 

Read the full TASA press release here: https://tasanet.org/tasa-names-six-finalists-for-2021-texas-teacher-of-the-year


Photo courtesy of TASA