/ATPE/media/Blog/Blog_General-Awards_750x330.png?ext=.png /ATPE/media/Blog/Blog_General-Awards_750x330.png?ext=.png

Announcing the 2021-22 ATPE Educators of the Year and Alafair Hammett and Judy Coyle award recipients

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 8/17/2022

ATPE honored the 2021-22 Charles Pickitt Educators of the Year as well as presented the Alafair Hammett Media Award and the Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award July 6–8 during the ATPE Summit in Grapevine.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Awards

The Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields.

Administrator of the Year

Diana Ybarra, Corpus Christi ISD
Tina Alvarado, Castleberry ISD; Heather Nobile, Nocona ISD

Associate of the Year

Jenny Westbrook, Woden ISD
Hilda Martinez, La Joya ISD; JoAnn Murdock, Krum ISD

Elementary Teacher of the Year

Bonnie Anderson, Judson ISD
Luis Garcia, Valley View (1) ISD; Jennifer LeWinter, Plano ISD

Secondary Teacher of the Year

Rebecca Bottin, Plano ISD
Erika Koenig, Palacios ISD; Kimberly McFarden, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD

Special Services Educator of the Year

Kayla Hughes, Nacogdoches ISD
Eliamar Gomez, Valley View (1) ISD; Susan McGuire, Nacogdoches ISD

Alafair Hammett Media Award

Named for ATPE’s first state president, this award recognizes a journalistic work covering Texas public education for its relevancy, clarity, approach to public education policy, and ability to capture audience interest. The 2021-22 recipient is Dallas Morning News columnist Sharon Grigsby for her Jan. 10, 2022, column “GOP guru thinks Texas teachers are just babysitters? Let’s see how his insults play at the polls.”

Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award

Named for a founding member, ATPE’s highest honor is presented to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated superior service to public education. The ATPE Board of Directors awarded the 2022 Judy Coyle Texas Liberty Award to The Texas Tribune and its co-founders, John Thornton, Evan Smith, and Ross Ramsey, in recognition of the nonprofit news outlet’s unparalleled coverage of Texas public education, as well as its work to encourage Texas educators to participate in important policy debates.