/ATPE/media/Assets/roya_3.JPG?ext=.jpg /ATPE/media/Assets/roya_3.JPG?ext=.jpg

Spotlight Series: 2021-22 Local Unit of the Year: Nacogdoches ATPE

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 12/02/2022

Nacogdoches ATPE, led by President Roya Dinbali, won the Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award in the category for local units with 201–500 members.

With the holidays approaching, Nacogdoches continues to show appreciation to its members with monthly treats, such as snow cones, frozen hot chocolate, cookies, and more. Spring meetings in Nacogdoches usually include fun activities such as painting and bowling, and this year, Nacogdoches ATPE’s Christmas party gives members a chance to show off their ugly sweaters.

Dinbali is also focused on service, and Nacogdoches ATPE will be participating in Ring the Bell over the winter break. At this year’s Christmas Party, members are also encouraged to bring a book or toy to donate.

Recruiting and retention has also been a challenge with COVID-19 and educator shortages, so Dinbali often spruces up their meetings with fun, group activities. These social events allow ATPE members to bring nonmember friends as well, which increases the chance for new members to sign up and enjoy all the benefits of being an ATPE member.

Nacogdoches ATPE has had several members participate in state committees, and ATPE member Dr. Audrey Young is on the State Board of Education. The local unit also prides itself on giving out prizes during each meeting, including shirts, gift cards, candles, swag, Nacogdoches ISD gear, cups, and mugs. These prizes are also provided by local vendors in support of ATPE.