/ATPE/media/Assets/awards_1.jpg?ext=.jpg /ATPE/media/Assets/awards_1.jpg?ext=.jpg

Announcing ATPE’s 2023 award recipients

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 4/13/2023

ATPE is excited to announce the recipients of the Educator of the Year, Campus Representative of the Year, and Local Unit of the Year Awards! The winners will be recognized at the 2023 ATPE Summit in Round Rock this July.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award
This award—named after founding ATPE member Charles Pickitt—recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields. Award recipients will receive a $5,000 prize. This year’s winners are:

  • Administrator of the Year—Christina Flores, Riesel ISD; finalists Claire Bray, Nacogdoches ISD, and Kris Mitzner, Katy ISD
  • Associate of the Year—Francis Sanchez, Zapata County ISD; finalists Eduardo Mercado, Edinburg CISD, and Wanda Bailey, Mesquite ISD
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year—Michael Sweet, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD; finalists Christy Biehle, Katy ISD, and Lacey Brajenovich, Katy ISD
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year—Daxus Nesossi, Katy ISD; finalists Joan Pearson, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, and Clarice Cross, Plano ISD
  • Special Services Educator of the Year—John Fore, Dallas ISD; finalists Dedra Robertson, Katy ISD, and Ana Ramos, Roma ISD

Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award
These awards acknowledge special ATPE volunteers who are fundamental to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. Award recipients will receive $1,000 each, and their local units will receive $250 for future local unit activities. The winners are:

  • Local unit with 1–200 members—Sean Douglas, Cuero ISD; finalists Jessica McHale, Hempstead ATPE, and Christy Skinner, Lumberton ATPE
  • Local unit with 201–500 members—Roya Dinbali, Nacogdoches ATPE; finalists Katherine Whitbeck, Nacogdoches ATPE, and Monique Juliangarza, Spring ATPE
  • Local unit with 501–1,000 members—Artemio Cantu, La Joya ATPE; finalists Aiesha Odutayo, Houston ATPE, and Hilda Martinez, La Joya ATPE
  • Local unit with 1,001+ members—Antonio Mercado, Edinburg ATPE; finalists Michelle Jeffrey, Katy ATPE, and Jennifer LeWinter, Plano ATPE

Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award
These awards recognize a local unit’s superior efforts and accomplishments during the year. Each winning local unit will receive $1,000. The winners are:

  • Local units with 1–200 members—Bandera ATPE, Region 20; finalists Hempstead ATPE, Region 4, and North Starr ATPE, Region 1
  • Local units with 201–500 members—Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ATPE, Region 1; finalists Magnolia ATPE, Region 6, and Allen ATPE, Region 10
  • Local units with 501–1,000 members—La Joya ATPE, Region 1; finalists Alief ATPE, Region 4, and Houston ATPE, Region 4
  • Local units with 1,001+ members—Katy ATPE, Region 4; finalists Cypress-Fairbanks ATPE, Region 4, and Denton ATPE, Region 11
  • University local units—University of St. Thomas ATPE, Region 4; finalist Houston Baptist University, Region 4

Congratulations to all of our award winners and finalists!

For more information about ATPE’s prestigious awards, visit atpe.org/awards. To learn more about ATPE Summit, visit atpesummit.org.