/getattachment/8ef19750-294a-46e4-81a3-0ff9821ce9c7/awards.jpg?lang=en-US&ext=.jpg /getattachment/8ef19750-294a-46e4-81a3-0ff9821ce9c7/awards.jpg?lang=en-US&ext=.jpg

Congratulations to ATPE’s 2024 Award Recipients!

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 4/25/2024

ATPE is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2024 Educator of the Year, Campus Representative of the Year, and Local Unit of the Year awards! These award recipients will be formally recognized during ceremonies at the 2024 ATPE Summit, July 8–10 at the Sheraton Dallas.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Award

This award—named after founding ATPE member Charles Pickitt—recognizes ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective educational fields. Award recipients will receive a $5,000 prize. This year’s recipients are:

  • Administrator of the Year—Kimberly Bissell, Corpus Christi ISD
  • Associate of the Year—Melanie DeValcourt, Nacogdoches ISD
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year—Nicole Needham, Katy ISD
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year—Dani Boepple, Mesquite ISD
  • Special Services Educator of the Year—Michael Murray Carreon, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award

These awards, which are named after a longtime ATPE executive director, acknowledge special ATPE volunteers who are fundamental to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. Award recipients will receive $1,000 each, and their local units will receive $250 for future local unit activities. The finalists are:

  • Local unit with 201–500 members—Bertha Cantu, Mission CISD
  • Local unit with 501–1,000 members—Annabel Cruz, La Joya ISD
  • Local unit with 1,001+ members—Suzanne Kujawa, Katy ISD

Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award

These awards—named after one of ATPE’s founding members—recognize a local unit’s superior efforts and accomplishments during the year. Each winning local unit will receive $1,000. The finalists are:

  • Local units with 1–200 members—Hempstead ATPE, Region 4
  • Local units with 201–500 members—Magnolia ATPE, Region 6
  • Local units with 501–1,000 members—Waxahachie ATPE, Region 10
  • Local units with 1,001+ members—Plano ATPE, Region 10

For more information about ATPE’s prestigious awards, visit atpe.org/awards. Learn more about attending the ATPE Summit at atpesummit.org.