/getattachment/23198742-3b63-4453-9193-39033837204a/TXTOY-gold-on-black-1-scaled.jpg?lang=en-US&ext=.jpg /getattachment/23198742-3b63-4453-9193-39033837204a/TXTOY-gold-on-black-1-scaled.jpg?lang=en-US&ext=.jpg

Has Your District/Charter Announced Its Official Teachers of the Year?

Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

Date Posted: 4/25/2024

Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor the State of Texas can bestow upon a teacher. The official State of Texas Teacher of the Year program, facilitated by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) since 2011, annually recognizes and rewards teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching, and nominations are now open for 2025 Texas Teacher of the Year.

Each school district and charter operator may nominate two teachers—one elementary and one secondary educator—for Regional Teacher of the Year by completing the 2025 Texas Teacher of the Year application and providing all requested information to their regional ESC by June 13 (completed applications are automatically sent to ESCs).

All district/charter nominees advance to a regional competition, coordinated by each ESC. The 40 regional winners (one elementary teacher and one secondary teacher for each region) then become semifinalists for Texas Teacher of the Year. Six finalists are chosen, and following an interview process, the Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year and Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year are selected. One represents the state in the National Teacher of the Year program. Be sure to review the nomination and selection information before applying.

For more information, visit the TASA website.

Taniece Thompson-Smith, a fifth-grade science teacher at Abilene ISD’s Stafford Elementary and ATPE member, was named the 2024 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year. Read more about her incredible journey in ATPE News magazine to see what makes her an inspiration to her students and educators everywhere.