Association of Texas Professional Educators
Association of Texas Professional Educators

It’s the 2023-24 ATPE Award Season! Submit Your Nominations!

Every year, ATPE recognizes outstanding Texas educators, ATPE leaders, and friends of Texas public schools. Recognize a colleague who changes lives and inspires excellence by nominating them for an ATPE Educator of the Year Award. Highlight the work of a local unit by nominating them for Local Unit of the Year, or nominate an outstanding ATPE volunteer for Campus Representative of the Year.

Log in and visit for full details and nomination forms. Don’t delay—the nomination deadline is December 1

Not a member? Join Texas’ largest community of educators today! 

Read on to learn more about these awards and see what past winners have to say about ATPE.

Charles Pickitt Educator of the Year Awards

These awards recognize ATPE members who demonstrate exceptional or innovative capabilities in their respective education fields. Each recipient will receive $5,000. Self-nominations are not allowed. The awards are divided into five categories:

  • Administrator of the Year
  • Associate of the Year
  • Elementary Teacher of the Year
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year
  • Special Services Educator of the Year
Nominate a colleague

Floyd Trimble Local Unit of the Year Award 

These awards acknowledge a local unit’s superior efforts and accomplishments during the year. Each winning local unit will receive $1,000. Self-nominations are allowed. The awards are designed to recognize outstanding achievements in five categories:

  • Local units with 1–200 members
  • Local units with 201–500 members
  • Local units with 501–1,000 members
  • Local units with 1,001+ members
  • University local units
Nominate a local unit

Doug Rogers Campus Representative of the Year Award 

These awards recognize special ATPE volunteers who prove themselves essential to the continued growth and development of our grassroots organization. Each recipient will receive $1,000. Self-nominations are not allowed. The awards are presented in four categories:

  • Local units/ISDs with 1–200 members
  • Local units/ISDs with 201–500 members
  • Local units/ISDs with 501–1,000 members
  • Local units/ISDs with 1,001+ members
Nominate a colleague